Facebook offers two alternatives when it comes to quitting or taking a break from its service. I will show you first how to temporarily disable your account and then you can come back later and reactivate it after 24 hours. If you want to DELETE your Facebook account forever then scroll below for instructions.
[Instructions] How to deactivate your Facebook account
It’s simple. Click the arrow then click Account Settings.
Now, click Security.
Then scroll down and click Deactivate your account.
Now, Facebook will ask you a reasoning for deactivating your account. Select one, confirm and complete the captcha text. You’re done. You have temporarily suspended or deactivated your Facebook. You can rest BUT WAIT your information/account isn’t deleted. Your friends will no longer see your information, pictures, etc. After 24 hours you have the option of reactivating your account where all your friendships will be restored, pictures will be available and everything will be like before.
[Instructions] How to permanently delete your Facebook Account
Facebook hides this link deep in their Facebook help center but you can permanently delete your account using the below link. Warning, it will delete your account, pictures, friendships for good and you won’t be able to retrieve them or reactivate your account. If you’re logged in and you’re ready then click the below link. Don’t worry once you click the below link you’ll be prompted again to make your final decision.